Never a Dull Moment!

One of the things that I absolutely love about interning on the Hill is the constant hub-bub. Every corner you turn you can find a new event, hearing, article, project, or anything that might pique your interest. I jumped at the opportunity to research and attend committee hearings and scrawl notes to decipher their remarks in short memos. Today, I was set to attend a Senate education committee hearing on the implementation of the United States newest elementary and secondary education law, the Every Student Succeeds Act. While I eagerly made my way through the Capitol maze, I decided to jump on one of the fancy rail trains that transport members and staff from the Capitol to the Senate buildings. As I sat down on the train, two women dashed into the car in front of me. ‘Wow,’ I thought, ‘they must need to be going somewhere fast.’ When one of the women turned around, I recognized her as none other than Senator Elizabeth Warren! Starstruck, I exchanged amazement with the staffer sitting across from me. As I walked into the hearing room just in time for the committee to come to order I realized why the Senator might have been rushing, she was headed to that same hearing that I was (as a Committee member, of course).

As a qualified political nerd, it is pretty amazing to say you have seen some of the most revered Washington superstars, even if it only is in passing. I’m still crossing my fingers for a run in with the President, or better yet, the First Dogs, Bo and Sunny!

Leave a Reply

